明尼阿波利斯中央图书馆——高可达性且兼容并蓄的城市地标与学习实验室

美国明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯

明尼阿波利斯中央图书馆,在公众协作下应运而生,缝合了亨内平县的城市肌理。作为拥有14间分馆的图书馆体系的核心,明尼阿波利斯中央图书馆以高连接性、高可达性吸引着新生代,重新定义大型都市图书馆的理念。其标志性设计强调了公众的重要性,通过提高书库的可达性,并提供社区参与的聚集性空间,从而提升用户体验。

75%
增加的可访问资源

图书馆的金属顶部呈翼状,以悬挑的姿态探出建筑基地范围,从而在明尼阿波利斯市中心打造出一处具有亲切感的地标场所。

通过中央公共大厅连接

公共大厅是图书馆的核心,高达六层的玻璃中庭贯穿整座建筑,这里采光充足且活动丰富。公共大厅区隔并链接了图书馆内使用率最高的空间,例如北面的阅览室以及私人办公室与存储区。这一特意的空间分隔辅以食物与音乐为社区聚会创造了机会,同时充分保护了书库,也提升了空间的功能性。

“该建筑完美兼容了优雅感与功能性。自投入使用那天起,该建筑就广受员工好评,公众赞誉不止。不论是作为美丽的图书馆,还是重要的社区聚会场所,亦或是城市的一处资产,它都非常成功" - Kit Hadley, 明尼阿波利斯中央图书馆前馆长
Minneapolis Central Library is reminiscent of warehouse lofts, with large open floors structured by a grid of concrete columns and central staircase.

天桥横跨公共大厅、贯通建筑两端,并链接起楼梯与自动扶梯,连通大礼堂、美术馆、书店和咖啡馆,使得空间充满活力。

为了让读者饱览更多资料,图书馆几乎将100%的馆藏都置于开架上,而这在之前的图书馆仅达到15%。

期待公共图书馆的扩张

明尼阿波利斯中央图书馆是一个与时俱进的平台,通过设置专用空间为不同的族群提供服务。例如,新美国人中心为新移民提供英语课程与就业培训,而商业服务中心则为求职者、小企业主、投资者以及专利研究者提供支持。图书馆 40%的访客都来此寻求商业相关服务。直观导向标识将不同空间串联起来,该等标识采用三种语言,可根据人口变迁进行适时调整。

96%
的建筑垃圾已回收

立面上的窗户尺寸和深度不一,不同密度的陶瓷熔块上分别描绘着明尼苏达的四种景观:朝向密西西比河的北立面是水波纹;面向尼科莱特购物中心的是白桦树;南立面是树枝上的积雪;面朝亨内平大道的则是草原。

More About the Project

Project Team

Principal Collaborators

  • Associate Architect: Architectural Alliance
  • Structural Engineer: Thornton Tomasetti
  • MEP: Eriksen Ellison & Associates

Project Information

  • Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
  • Client: Hennepin County Library and City of Minneapolis
  • Size: 353,000 sq. ft. / 32,795 sq. m.
  • Completion: 2006
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2006, Design Award, AIA Connecticut
  • 2007, Lumen Award Citation, New York Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society
  • 2009, Library Building Award, American Institute of Architects/American Library Association
  • Principal Project Photography: Jeff Goldberg/ESTO

Related Projects

The Minneapolis Central Library is a vibrant learning laboratory rooted by accessibility and inclusivity

Minneapolis, MN, USA

Arising from a collaborative public process, the Minneapolis Central Library knits together the urban fabric of Hennepin County. The heart of a fourteen-branch system, the library reinvigorates the classic grand urban library by making it connected, accessible, and appealing for new generations. The responsive design celebrates the importance of the public and enhances visitors’ experiences by balancing access to materials with dynamic space for community engagement and gathering.

75%
increase in accessible resources

Topped by a metal “wing” that hovers overhead, the library extends beyond the building’s footprint to create a welcoming destination and marker in downtown Minneapolis. 

Connecting through a central Commons 

At the heart of the library is the Commons, a six-story glass atrium that slices through the building, filling it with light and activity. The Commons separates and connects the most accessible elements of the library, such as the reading rooms to the north, and more private offices and storage areas. The intentional separation creates the opportunities for community gathering spaces with food and music while protecting the stacks and promoting highly functional spaces. 

“The building is a spectacular combination of elegance and functionality. It got high marks from the staff from the day we moved in and continues to draw public praise. It is successful as a library, as a premier community gathering place, and as a beautiful asset for the city.” — Kit Hadley, former Library Director, Minneapolis Central Library 
Minneapolis Central Library is reminiscent of warehouse lofts, with large open floors structured by a grid of concrete columns and central staircase.

Bridges span the Commons connecting the two sides and linking into stairs and escalators, animating the space that also includes an auditorium, art gallery, bookstore, and café.   

The library puts more materials right at patrons’ fingertips with nearly 100 percent of its collection on open shelves, up from only 15 percent at the previous facility.

Anticipating an expanding public library program

The Minneapolis Central Library serves as a dynamic platform for ever-evolving services through dedicated spaces for specific groups. For example, the New Americans Center offers English classes and workforce training for recent immigrants while Business Services supports job seekers, small business owners, investors, and patent researchers. Up to 40 percent of patrons use the library for business purposes. Intuitive wayfinding signage weaves together these spaces in three languages that can adapt as populations change.

96%
of all construction waste was recycled

Windows vary in scale and depth, and different densities of ceramic fritting depict four Minnesota landscapes: water ripples on the north façade, toward the Mississippi River; birch trees on Nicollet Mall; snow on branches on the south; and prairie grasses on Hennepin Avenue.  

More About the Project

Project Team

Principal Collaborators

  • Associate Architect: Architectural Alliance
  • Structural Engineer: Thornton Tomasetti
  • MEP: Eriksen Ellison & Associates

Project Information

  • Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
  • Client: Hennepin County Library and City of Minneapolis
  • Size: 353,000 sq. ft. / 32,795 sq. m.
  • Completion: 2006
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2006, Design Award, AIA Connecticut
  • 2007, Lumen Award Citation, New York Section of the Illuminating Engineering Society
  • 2009, Library Building Award, American Institute of Architects/American Library Association
  • Principal Project Photography: Jeff Goldberg/ESTO