德保罗戏剧学院,著名的戏剧艺术家培训基地

芝加哥,伊利诺伊州,美国
Located on an active street, The Theatre School is a five-story building of limestone geometric shapes. A black-box theatre features a transparent wall that illuminates in various colors to accentuate the geometric facade.

成立于1925年的德保罗戏剧学院位于芝加哥市中心,是一所卓越的职业培训机构。新大楼建成之前,该学院一直在一所以前的教会学校里办学。尽管设施条件不甚理想,老旧小学自身兼收并蓄的空间却培育出了浓厚的艺术社区氛围,以及自力更生的乐观精神。新建筑充分吸纳了德保罗的这一革新精神,将其“乱中有序”的气质融入了这栋创新的艺术学院大楼,空间包括有250座的伸展式舞台、100座的实验性黑盒剧场、排练室和教室,以及服化、道具、布景和灯光工作室。

250

秉承戏剧学院一贯的精神,学生们可以——也确实——将建筑内的任何空间都转变为了舞台,包括伸展式舞台剧场外的大厅。

50+
每季度作品

伸展式舞台可容纳250位观众,是一处有着亲密感的活力场馆。未来会成为戏剧艺术家的学生们可以在这里打磨自身演技。

“作为一名资深剧院设计师,我参与过众多的合作项目,因此可以负责任地说,Pelli Clarke & Partners的协作配合程度以及创造力均数一数二。其不仅经验丰富,还是很耐心的倾听者,完全遵照了我们提出的要求与限制条件,并最终实现了我们的目标。” — 约翰·卡伯特(John Culbert),德保罗戏剧学院院长

布景车间位于一层,正对着北拉辛大街(North Racine Avenue)的落地窗可以望见外面喧闹的日常。

透过两层通高的玻璃幕墙,人们可以瞥见室内的幕后活动。

关于艺术合作的启发性探索

戏剧学院的建筑设计旨在拉近戏剧艺术家们间的关系,同时向公众展现表演艺术一些不为人知的内在面向。黑盒剧场位于建筑四楼,全透明的北墙面向西富勒顿大街(West Fullerton Avenue)探出,显露出室内熠熠生辉的舞台。大楼立面采用了切割成几何状的石灰岩,并穿插有竖向的玻璃条窗,从中可以望见表演、教室与幕后等空间。而建筑的每一楼层都混合设置了不同的学科与功能,从而增进不同师生群体间的日常合作并激发创造力。

位于二楼的人行天桥贯穿一层空间,将表演与排练空间连通起来。悬吊天桥可收起,方便大型布景从下方通过。

每一间表演室都有着独特的形式布局,师生们可以根据每个房间的特色作出不同回应。

服装店是学校提供的独特创客空间之一。

“我们希望观众,甚至是经过的路人,都可以感受到创造的活力,一睹被我们视作日常的幕后工作。” —— 约翰·卡伯特(John Culbert),德保罗戏剧学院院长

黑盒剧场的窗户极富戏剧性,可以作为场景元素纳入表演,也可以用幕布遮挡起来。

More About the Project

Project Team

Principal Collaborators

  • Architect of Record: Cannon Design
  • Structural Engineer: Thornton Tomasetti
  • MEP: WMA Consulting Engineers
  • Acoustician: Kirkegaard Associates
  • Theater Planner: Schuler Shook

Project Information

  • Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • Client: DePaul University
  • Size: 165,000 sq. ft. / 15,329 sq. m.
  • Completion: 2013
  • Sustainability Rating: LEED Gold
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2014, Honorable Mention, AIA Connecticut
  • 2014, Merit Award, Owners’ Choice, Chicago Building Congress
  • 2014, Outstanding Design, American School & University, The Architectural Portfolio
  • 2015, Honor Award for Distinguished Building category, AIA Chicago
  • 2015, Honor Award, United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.

Related Projects

DePaul Theatre School is a celebrated training ground for theatre artists

Chicago, IL, USA
Located on an active street, The Theatre School is a five-story building of limestone geometric shapes. A black-box theatre features a transparent wall that illuminates in various colors to accentuate the geometric facade.

Founded in 1925, DePaul Theatre School is a preeminent professional training program in the heart of Chicago. In the years prior to commissioning the new building, the program was housed in a former parochial school. While the facilities were not ideal, the eclectic spaces of the old elementary school helped fuel a deep sense of artistic community and do-it-yourself optimism. The new facility embodies DePaul’s revolutionary spirit, infusing its ethos of “controlled chaos” into an innovative conservatory building with a 250-seat thrust stage, 100-seat experimental black box theatre, rehearsal and classroom spaces, and studios for costumes, makeup, props, scenery, and lighting.

250
seat thrust theatre

In the spirit of the Theatre School’s old home, students can — and do — turn any part of the building into a stage, including the lobby of the thrust theatre.

50+
productions each season

Seating 250 people, the thrust stage is an intimate and dynamic venue for student theatre artists to hone their craft. 

“As a longtime theatre designer, I have been part of many collaborative processes myself, and thus have some basis for stating that Pelli Clarke & Partners could not have been more collaborative, responsive, or creative. They are sophisticated and deep listeners. And they achieved our goals within all of our parameters and limitations.”  — John Culbert, Dean of the Theatre School, DePaul University 

The scene shop is on the first level with floor-to-ceiling windows that open to the bustling daily life on North Racine Avenue. 

Double-height glass curtain walls offer a glimpse into behind-the-scenes activities.

An inspiring view into a culture of artistic collaboration  

The Theatre School’s architecture is designed to foster connection among theatre artists and give the public an unusual glimpse into the inner workings of the performing arts. The black box theatre is positioned on the fourth floor with a transparent north wall that reveals a colorful, glowing stage reaching toward West Fullerton Avenue. The building is composed of limestone geometric shapes with vertical strips of glass that expose performance, classroom, and behind-the-scenes spaces. On each floor of the building, different disciplines and functions coexist side-by-side, fueling a culture of daily collaboration and creativity among diverse groups of students and faculty.

On the second level, a pedestrian bridge across the first floor connects performance and rehearsal spaces, and features a drawbridge so large scenery can pass underneath.  

Every performance lab is unique in shape and form so students and teachers can respond to each room’s distinctive characteristics. 

The costume shop is a unique maker space for student theatre artists. 

“Each aspect of the architecture embodies DePaul’s ethos of original thinking and collaboration, creating an iconic cultural gateway at the east end of campus and a dynamic view inside the daily creative chaos and rituals of making theatre.” — Mitchell A. Hirsch, AIA, LEED AP

The black box theatre’s dramatic windows can be incorporated as a scenic element or blacked out with curtains. 

More About the Project

Project Team

Principal Collaborators

  • Architect of Record: Cannon Design
  • Structural Engineer: Thornton Tomasetti
  • MEP: WMA Consulting Engineers
  • Acoustician: Kirkegaard Associates
  • Theater Planner: Schuler Shook

Project Information

  • Location: Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • Client: DePaul University
  • Size: 165,000 sq. ft. / 15,329 sq. m.
  • Completion: 2013
  • Sustainability Rating: LEED Gold
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2014, Honorable Mention, AIA Connecticut
  • 2014, Merit Award, Owners’ Choice, Chicago Building Congress
  • 2014, Outstanding Design, American School & University, The Architectural Portfolio
  • 2015, Honor Award for Distinguished Building category, AIA Chicago
  • 2015, Honor Award, United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.
  • Principal Project Photography: Jeff Goldberg/ESTO

Related Projects