耶鲁科学大楼,开启科学创新的光明前景

纽黑文市,康涅狄格州
The Pavilion at the Yale Science Building is the outdoor plaza and centerpiece of the Science Hill campus that provides a picturesque landscape for studying and collaboration.

耶鲁大学的科学大楼是一处倡导科学探究的基地,旨在推动新生代科学家间的社区建立与合作。基于其前身J.W·吉布斯实验室(J.W. Gibbs Laboratory),这栋先进楼宇为大学历史悠久的科学山(Science Hill)校区注入了全新活力,将分散的项目集中整合到了同一个屋檐下。这一大规模的振兴项目没有选择一味地扩大校区规模,而是考虑到为未来的发展留存土地,同时提升整个社区的延续性与可达性。

83%
的室内空间可望见室外景观

公共活动中心(the Commons pavilion )俯瞰萨赫姆山

设计基于细致的风向研究数据,将这个曾经无人使用的广场改造为了一处有遮挡的无风空间,科学山校区的人们可以一年四季在此享受户外活动的乐趣。

科学山校区的核心聚会场所

耶鲁科学大楼前的广场不仅是科学山校区内一处核心的公共区域,也是适合朋友、同事聚会的热闹场所。阳光普照且与周边绿地连通,舒适的室内/户外空间为学生及教职工提供了社交、用餐以及学习的启发性环境。

耶鲁科学大楼大厅层和广场层的轴测图。展示了现存建筑与新建筑之间的联系。

串联起一个多元化且充满创新的科学社区

为了进一步激发耶鲁大学在探究与合作方面的活跃文化,我们通过多层次链接的打造,将科学山校区内的众多建筑串联起来,进而凝练成一个整体形象。同时,得益于该项目独特的基地条件,设计在地下创建出一个中央大厅,不仅容纳有振感物理实验室与成像研究实验室,还将耶鲁科学大楼与周边的建筑连通起来。大厅还将继续外拓,最终与科学山校区2023年开工的新一期扩建工程贯通。

建筑设计采用了带有赤褐色竖向柱体与横向遮阳板的玻璃立面,呼应了科学山校区内其他楼宇的建筑特色。另外,建筑的色彩也会随着一天内的光线变换而变化。

可灵活使用的实验室与工作区可以根据研究需求进行适时调整。

500座的大讲堂属于皮博迪博物馆(Peabody Museum)的一部分,其增强了耶鲁大学与纽黑文社区间的联结感。

“100年后,人们回望这一刻时,会发现这栋建筑在加速耶鲁的科学发现进程上起到了至关重要的作用,而这不光是在实现我们共同的愿景,也是在造福全人类。” — 彼得·沙洛维(Peter Salovey),耶鲁大学校长

畅想一个健康且可持续的未来

耶鲁科学大楼是大学实现净零能耗目标进程中的标志性节点。作为校园内能效最高的实验室,该建筑的能源利用指数(EUI)与学校规定的EUI基准相比降低了25%。设计还增加了大面积的绿化,大幅提升了雨水管理系统,还对一棵150年的珍贵橡树进行了保护。

More About the Project

Principal Collaborators

  • Architect of Record: Stantec
  • Structural Engineer: Le Messurier
  • MEP: Stantec
  • Lab Planner: Stantec

Project Information

  • Location: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
  • Client: Yale University
  • Size: 282,500 sq. ft. / 26,244 sq. m.
  • Completion: 2019
  • Certification: LEED Gold Objective
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2020, Award of Merit for Higher Education/Research, ENR Best Project Award
  • 2020, Excellence Award, AIA CT Design Awards
  • 2021, American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC/CT) Connecticut Engineering Excellence Awards, Winner
  • 2020, American Institute of Architects (AIA) Connecticut Design Awards Excellence, Commercial, Institutional, Educational, and Multi-Family Residential Design
  • 2020, American Institute of Architects (AIA) Pittsburgh, Design Pittsburgh Awards, Honor Award, Large
  • 2020, Associated General Contractors of Connecticut Build Connecticut Awards, Construction Management/General Contractor: Large New Construction
  • Principal Project Photography: Jeff Goldberg/ESTO

Yale Science Building opens the door to a bright future of scientific innovation

New Haven, CT, USA
The Pavilion at the Yale Science Building is the outdoor plaza and centerpiece of the Science Hill campus that provides a picturesque landscape for studying and collaboration.

Yale Science Building is a welcoming home for scientific inquiry that celebrates community and collaboration among the next generation of scientists. In the footprint of the former J.W. Gibbs Laboratory, the state-of-the-art building revitalizes the university’s historic Science Hill by bringing together scattered programs under a single roof.  Rather than expanding the campus footprint, this large-scale revitalization conserves land for future growth and empowers community through continuity and accessibility.

83%
of interior spaces provide outdoor views

The Commons pavilion overlooking Sachem Hill.

By closely analyzing wind-study data, we designed the Commons Pavilion to be a wind deterrent, transforming this once unusable plaza into a protected outdoor space for the Science Hill community to enjoy year-round.

Science Hill's central meeting place

Yale Science Building’s plaza is known as the Commons — a defining centerpiece of Science Hill, and a bustling place to meet up with friends and colleagues. Filled with natural light and connected to surrounding green space, this inspiring setting offers students, faculty, and staff comfortable indoor/outdoor spaces to socialize, dine, and study.

Axonometric view of YSB's concourse level and plaza level floors.

Connecting a diverse and innovative community

To further Yale’s vibrant culture of inquiry and collaboration, we formed multi-layered connections between Science Hill’s numerous buildings and developed a cohesive identity throughout. The project’s unique site gave us the opportunity to create a large underground concourse that houses vibration-sensitive physics and imaging research labs, and links Yale Science Building to the surrounding buildings. This concourse level will extend and connect to the next phase of Science Hill’s expansion, set to begin construction in 2023.

The building's design features glass façades with russet-colored vertical piers and horizontal sunshades that reflect the architectural qualities of other Science Hill buildings. The color shifts throughout the day as the light changes.

Flexible labs and workspaces are easily adaptable as research needs evolve over time.

The 500-seat lecture hall, part of the Peabody Museum, strengthens the connection between Yale and the New Haven community.

“In 100 years, when people look back to this moment, they will see that this building played a vital role in fulfilling our shared vision to accelerate the pace of scientific discovery at Yale to benefit the lives of people around the world.”  — Peter Salovey, President of Yale University

Looking ahead to a healthy and sustainable future

Yale Science Building marks significant steps toward the university’s net-zero goal. The building is the most energy-efficient laboratory on campus, reducing the University’s EUI benchmark by 25 percent. The design adds abundant green space, greatly improves storm water management, and preserves treasured 150-year-old oak trees.

More About the Project

Project Team

Principal Collaborators

  • Architect of Record: Stantec
  • Structural Engineer: Le Messurier
  • MEP: Stantec
  • Lab Planner: Stantec

Project Information

  • Location: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
  • Client: Yale University
  • Size: 282,500 sq. ft. / 26,244 sq. m.
  • Completion: 2019
  • Certification: LEED Gold Objective
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2021, American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC/CT) Connecticut Engineering Excellence Awards, Winner
  • 2020, Award of Merit for Higher Education/Research, ENR Best Project Award
  • 2020, Excellence Award, AIA CT Design Awards
  • 2020, American Institute of Architects (AIA) Connecticut Design Awards Excellence, Commercial, Institutional, Educational, and Multi-Family Residential Design
  • 2020, American Institute of Architects (AIA) Pittsburgh, Design Pittsburgh Awards, Honor Award, Large
  • 2020, Associated General Contractors of Connecticut Build Connecticut Awards, Construction Management/General Contractor: Large New Construction
  • Principal Project Photography: Jeff Goldberg/ESTO