城市转型的革命性突破

旧金山,加利福尼亚,美国

高逾一千英尺的Salesforce塔楼耸入天际,以先锋的姿态凸显旧金山的丰富历史与乐观精神。它地处繁华社区的核心地带,是位于天际线上的全新城市枢纽中心。塔楼同时也是引领城市未来的鲜活范例——通过公私合作的模式,进行交通导向型的社区开发。

11000盏LED灯
塔冠上的公共艺术装置安装有

该塔楼作为郊区企业园区的现代化转型,在旧金山的代表性地标中占据一席之位。

初探可能性

塔楼高1070英尺。它纤细的外轮廓逐渐收拢,穿透城市的浓雾,在阳光的照射在熠熠生辉。曲线造型柔和轻盈,焕发活力;层叠的优美曲线与弧形的玻璃转角延伸至大楼顶端,与天际接壤。

“Salesforce塔楼的建造,切实促进了我们在旧金山所打造的这一全新社区的经济增长。”——Jane Kim,旧金山监事委员会委员(第六区)

营造弹性社区

塔楼内的各个楼层都实施了综合减碳策略,全面提升了塔楼的可持续性,在节约能源的同时营造健康、高效的环境。所搭载的全美商业高层建筑中规模最大的废水回收系统,可节约水总量高达76%。建筑的五楼与枢纽中心总长绵延近四个街区的屋顶公园直接相连——这里种植有本地树木,还有葱郁的花园、喷泉、公共艺术品以及文化活动。 

945 吨
通过污水回收处理办法,每天可节约的淡水资源总量

各个楼层的遮阳板减少了太阳辐射,保障了室内的自然采光;构成了塔楼编织纹理感的外观,与整体轻柔起伏的形态相得益彰。

开放的大堂成为了人行道的自然延伸,消融了公共空间与私人领域的界限。

75%
的空间拥有自然采光

提倡合作共享,打造健康环境

塔楼的内部同样体现了设计中的创新与协作精神。灵活的休闲空间最大程度地满足了住户的社交需求,配套的专业会议空间景色绝佳。相关的机械系统实现了保证住户健康的首要任务。立面上无缝集成的换气百叶将100%的新鲜空气引入各个楼层,保证了最佳空气质量。

塔楼的第五层直接通向枢纽中心屋顶葱郁的公园,这里每天都往来汇聚着众多游客、市民与通勤者。

融入城市肌理 

塔楼的纵向建造,加上其所处位置——海湾大桥与主要公交线路贯通的交通枢纽的核心地带,使得项目中可供材料运输与平台搭建的空间非常有限。通过项目管理最佳实践方法、项目参与者之间的深度合作,以及持续的社区参与活动,这一革新项目得以落地实现。

More About the Project

Principal Collaborators

  • Architect of Record: Kendall Heaton
  • Structural Engineer: Magnusson Klemencic Associates
  • MEP: WSP Group

Project Information

  • Location: San Francisco, California, USA
  • Client: Boston Properties, Inc. and Hines Interests Limited Partnership
  • Size: 1,400,000 sq. ft. / 130,064 sq. m.
  • Height: 1,070 ft. / 326 m.
  • Completion: 2018
  • Certification: LEED Platinum
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2018, Global Best Project, Engineering News Record
  • 2018, Award of Excellence, AIA Connecticut
  • 2018, Project of the Year Award, AIA Connecticut Design Award
  • 2018, Global Best Project Office category, Engineering News Record
  • 2019, Best Tall Building (300-399 M Height Category), CTBUH
  • 2019, Best Tall Building Worldwide, CTBUH
  • 2019, Best MEP, CTBUH
  • 2020, The American Architecture Award, The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies
  • Principal Project Photography: Jason O'Rear
  • Construction photography courtesy of: Clark-Hathaway Dinwiddie Joint Venture
  • Artist: Jim Campbell, "Day for Night", drone videography by Duncan Sinfield

Related Projects

Salesforce Tower transforms a revolutionary city

San Francisco, CA, USA

Salesforce Tower stretches over one thousand feet into the sky, a forward-looking reflection of San Francisco’s rich history and optimistic spirit. At the center of a blossoming neighborhood, it is the marker on the skyline of the city’s brand-new Transit Center. The tower is a model for the future of our cities — a vibrant public-private collaboration of transit-centered community development.  

11,000
LED lights installed at the tower's crown

A modern alternative to suburban corporate campuses, the tower takes its place among San Francisco’s iconic landmarks.  

At the threshold of possibility

Soaring above the city’s quintessential fog banks to shine in the sun, the tower’s slender, tapering silhouette ascends to 1,070 feet. Its gentle, curving form evokes lightness and enthusiasm with layers of graceful curves and rounded glass corners that reach beyond the top floor and appear to dissolve into the sky.  

“The construction of Salesforce Tower has really helped stimulate the economic growth of a new neighborhood that we are building here in San Francisco.” – Jane Kim, San Francisco Board of Supervisors (District 6)

Building a resilient community

Floor by floor, the tower elevates next-level sustainability with comprehensive carbon-reducing features that save energy and empower a healthy, productive environment. A blackwater recycling program that is the largest in a U.S. commercial high-rise reduces the water footprint by 76 percent. At the fifth floor, the tower connects to the Transit Center’s rooftop public park that extends four city blocks long — home to native trees, leafy gardens, fountains, public art, and cultural events. 

30,000
gallons of fresh water saved each day by blackwater recycling

Sunshades at each floor maximize access to natural light, reduce solar gain, and give the tower a richly woven exterior to compliment the gentle curves of its form.

The lobby opens as a natural extension of the sidewalk, lifting the line between the public and private spheres. 

75%
of occupied spaces receive natural daylight

Nurturing collaboration and wellness 

The innovative and collaborative spirit of the design is carried through into the interior of the tower, providing occupants maximum flexibility and casual interaction as well as professional meeting space with incredible views. The wellness of the tower’s occupants is of paramount importance and is supported through mechanical systems that bring 100 percent fresh air to each floor from intake louvers seamlessly integrated into the façade, making air quality the cleanest possible. 

Connected to the fifth floor of the tower, visitors, residents, and commuters gather daily in a lush public park atop the Transit Center’s roof.

Weaving into the urban fabric 

Because of the verticality of the tower and its location in the heart of a transportation hub that connects the Bay Bridge and main bus routes, little space was available for delivery and staging of materials for both projects. The transformative project was achieved through project management best practices, deep collaboration among project stakeholders, and sustained community engagement. 

More About the Project

Principal Collaborators

  • Architect of Record: Kendall Heaton Associates, Inc.
  • Structural Engineer: Magnusson Klemencic Associates
  • MEP: WSP Group

Project Information

  • Location: San Francisco, California, USA
  • Client: Boston Properties, Inc. and Hines Interests Limited Partnership
  • Size: 1,400,000 sq. ft. / 130,064 sq. m.
  • Height: 1,070 ft. / 326 m.
  • Completion: 2018
  • Certification: LEED Platinum
  • Firm Role: Design Architect

Awards

  • 2020, The American Architecture Award, The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies
  • 2019, Best MEP, CTBUH
  • 2019, Best Tall Building Worldwide, CTBUH
  • 2019, Best Tall Building (300-399 M Height Category), CTBUH
  • 2018, Global Best Project, Engineering News Record
  • 2018, Award of Excellence, AIA Connecticut
  • 2018, Project of the Year Award, AIA Connecticut Design Award
  • 2018, Global Best Project Office category, Engineering News Record
  • Principal Project Photography: Jason O'Rear
  • Construction photography courtesy of: Clark-Hathaway Dinwiddie Joint Venture
  • Artist: Jim Campbell, "Day for Night", drone videography by Duncan Sinfield

Related Projects